Jamaica Independence

When I think of Jamaica and the famous people who have stood out for me, I think of Bob Marley and Usain Bolt. Great ambassadors for Jamaica. In the lyrics of Bob Marley’s song ‘Redemption Song’ he has the words that express Jamaica for me.

Old pirates yes them rob I

Sold I to the merchant ships

minutes after they took I from a bottomless pit

By the hand of the almighty

We forward in this generation, triumphantly

All I ever had is songs of freedom

Won’t you help me sing these songs of freedom

Cause all I ever had Redemption songs

Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery

None but ourselves can free our minds

Have no fear for atomic energy

Cause none a them can stop the time

How long shall they kill our prophets

While we stand aside and look

Yes some say it’s just a part of it

We’ve got to fulfill the book

In April 1981 Bob Marley was awarded jamaica’s order of merit. One of it’s highest honors, in recognition of his contributions to the nation’s culture.

source lyrics, catch a fire p26

Usain Bolt has run his last 100m against a drug cheat who has been caught twice. How many chances are they allowed before they become banned for life. Usain ran his athletic career without disgracing himself. His personality bought millions of fans to watch him worldwide. I am an avid fan of athletics however, I have never heard a whole stadium show their anger as I did when the drug cheat finished his race. Usain will go into the history books with the likes of Muhammad Ali. Usain will always remembered for his sporting achievements. Regardless of what country you come from Usain was the man who you waited for to see run the clock gave how many minutes it was until he graced our screens. What a great athlete and for me the greatest athlete of all time an absolute legend.

hqdefault-1

150827144022-usain-bolt-jamaica-flag-super-169

#JamaicaIndependence

Leave a Reply

